Béziers

Béziers is located in the department of Herault and the region of Languedoc-Roussillon. The city is nestled in the plain overlooking the Orb and the Canal du Midi. Last contrefort of the Massif Central in the plain of Lower Languedoc, the heart of Béziers oscillates between mountains and sea . The Mediterranean, 15km away, extends its turquoise waters and mountains of the High Languedoc stand on the other side with the abrupt mass of Caroux (1090 meters above sea level ) Espinouse (1124m) and the mountains of Lacaune in the Tarn (1267m).

Béziers is the largest town of the department of Herault, with an area of 9 548 hectares. However, only half of that space is urbanized  ; on the rest of the territory, nature has retained its rights and vineyards alongside the protected natural areas where it is good to walk.

In addition to its green surroundings, Béziers offers its visitors monuments and sites worthy of great interest such as the Cathedral of Saint-Nazaire, located on the heights of the city; le Plateau des Poètes, large English-style park decorated with statues of poets ; the arena or le canal du midi.

Bullfighting occupies an important place in the heart of Biterroises and Biterrois which on August 15 to urge the feria in the company of many tourists coming every year to attend the festivities.

A visiter

  • Three museums
  • The Saint-Nazaire's cathedral
  • The Saint Aphrodise's basilica and several churches and chapels
  • The Canal du Midi
  • The Féria, each summer
  • The "Plateau des Poètes" public garden
  • The Cordier Mill
  • ...
 
Réservation

Béziers

Béziers est située dans le département de l’Hérault et la région du Languedoc-Roussillon. La ville est nichée dans la plaine dominant l’Orb et le Canal du midi. Dernier contrefort du Massif Central dans la plaine du Bas-Languedoc, le cœur de Béziers oscille entre mer et montagne. La Méditerranée, à 20km de là, étend ses eaux turquoise, et les Montagnes du Haut Languedoc se dressent de l’autre côté avec le massif abrupt du Caroux (1090 mètres d'altitude) l'Espinouse (1124m) et les monts de Lacaune dans le Tarn (1267m).

Béziers est la commune la plus étendue du département de l’Hérault, avec une superficie de 9 548 hectares. Cependant, la moitié de cet espace seulement est urbanisé ; sur le reste du territoire, la nature a gardé ses droits et les vignes côtoient les zones naturelles protégées où il fait bon se promener.

Outre ses alentours verdoyant, Béziers offre à ses visiteurs des monuments et sites dignes du plus grand intérêt tels la Cathédrale de Saint-Nazaire, située sur les hauteurs de la ville ; le plateau des poètes, vaste parc à l’anglaise orné de statues de poètes ; les arènes ou encore le canal du midi.

La tauromachie tient une place importante dans le cœur des Biterroises et des Biterrois qui le 15 août se pressent à la feria en compagnie des nombreux touristes venant tous les ans assister aux festivités.

A visiter

  • Trois musées
  • La cathédrale de Saint-Nazaire
  • La basilique et plusieurs églises et chapelles situées dans la vieille ville
  • Le Canal du Midi
  • La Féria, chaque été
  • Le jardin du Plateau des Poètes
  • Le Moulin Cordier
  • ...
 
Réservation